Map: Status of statewide face-covering requirements by state and governor

Increasingly, states are lifting or modifying mask mandates. The following 14 states, in alphabetical order, had mask orders but have lifted them: Alabama, Arkansas, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Montana, New Hampshire, North Dakota, Texas, Utah, Wisconsin and Wyoming.

As of April 30, 25 states had statewide mask orders in effect, including 20 of the 23 states with Democratic governors and five out of the 27 states with Republican governors.

Image courtesy of Ballotpedia